iOS 8 Shows “Allow App Deletion” Link For iOS 9 Upgrade
If you have been using iOS for a while, then you will know what happened last year. When Apple released iOS 8, everyone went crazy – because of the file size.
iOS 8 was huge in size, with 4 GB space required. If your device didn’t have that kind of free space, then you weren’t allowed to upgrade from iOS 7 to iOS 8.
Apple has learned its lesson, which is why this time they have reduced the iOS 9 update to 1.5 GB.
In other words, your iPhone / iPad should have at least 1.5 GB of free space to begin downloading the new iOS 9 update.
But what if you don’t have kind of free space on your device?
You will get an “insufficient space for download” message, and then you should to go to the home screen – look for the apps you don’t need and uninstall them.
But this year? With iOS 8.4 and iOS 8.4.1 (or any earlier version) you get more options. In fact, Apple handles the “less space” program for you by…
Temporarily Deleting Your Apps
That’s right – Apple will delete the apps / games you have that are taking up the storage space.
Here’s the pop-up message you get:
This appears when you are trying to upgrade from iOS 8 to iOS 9 via the Software Update section.
There is a link below the pop-up that says: “Allow App Deletion.”
Tapping on this will delete x number of apps from your device, which will be restored automatically after a successful firmware upgrade.
Of course, this won’t remove those native apps – like Tips, Stocks, Clock, Compass, etc.
Only third-party apps will be removed and re-installed later.
We are still wondering whether the locally saved app data is also removed after we select “Allow App Deletion”? This is because apps like Spotify saves data (songs) locally, and so does Facebook and Twitter.
We will explore this option further and report back to you. In case you have used this option already, and didn’t lose any app data, then feel free to share your thoughts.